Thursday, April 17, 2014
Several central Maine communities have enacted ordinances restricting fireworks. For a complete state list and more information on the state law, go to www.maine.gov/dps/fmo/fireworks.
Brandon Pelletier restocks shelves on Tuesday at the Pyro City fireworks store on Route 202 in Manchester. Store manager Jeremy Mitchell said that they'd seen an increase in shoppers over the last two weeks.
Staff photo by Joe Phelan
Anson: Prohibited within 75 feet of a structure, on roads and on public property.
Augusta: Ban on use and sale
Fairfield: Use is not allowed in public areas. Sale is allowed with permit.
Farmingdale: Use only between 5–10 p.m., except July 3–5 & Dec. 31 and Jan. 1. May not be used at all when the fire danger class, as designated by the Maine Forest Service, is a class 4 or 5 fire danger day. Three complaints on any user will result in that user not being allowed to use fireworks in Farmingdale.
Gardiner: Ban on use, sale is permitted (both are banned until July 11)
Hallowell: Use restricted to certain areas of the municipality. Contact city officials for more information.
Monmouth: Allowed 5 to 10 p.m. July 3-5, Dec. 31, Jan. 1, Memorial Day, Labor Day, and the two days before each; no louder than 45 decibels.
Oakland: Bans fireworks within a one-mile radius of Memorial Hall; allowed in other parts of town Dec. 31, 9 a.m.-12:30 a.m.; Jan. 1, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.; June 28-July 3 & July 5-July 11, 9 a.m.-9 p.m.; July 4, 9 a.m.-12:30 a.m.; special permits available for weekend days throughout the year.
Randolph: No use within 50 feet of a structure; no use on class 4 or 5 fire danger day.
Skowhegan: Use is permitted, sale is banned
Unity: Use, sale and possession with intent to sell banned.
Waterville: Use and sale banned.
Wayne: Use and sale banned.
Wilton: Requires a permit in any instance that would require a burn permit.
Winslow: Town permit needed for sale.
Winthrop: Use and sale banned.
Maine state law regarding possession and use of fireworks:
• They can only be used from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m., except certain holidays, including July 4.
• They must be used on one's own property, unless permission is given to use another's property.
• They can not be possessed by or furnished to anyone younger than 21.
Safety tips from the State Fire Marshal's Office:
• Avoid areas or conditions that are susceptible to fires, such as dry grass or timber.
• Keep a garden hose, water bucket or fire extinguisher nearby.
• Wear eye protection.
• Follow all directions provided on packaging.
• Light only one device at a time.
• Keep spectators at a safe distance.
• Be considerate of neighbors, pets and the environment.
• Clean up debris when finished.
• Stand clear of any device that does not discharge for at least 15 minutes. Then douse it in water.
• Maintain close supervision of children; keep them at a safe distance and make sure fireworks are kept out their reach.